Connect with us


CAF Player of the Year: Super Eagles players fail to make final 10-man shortlist



CAF revised kick-off

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released a list of 10 nominees for the Player of The Year award.

Moses Simon, who was Nigeria’s best player at the Africa Cup of Nations earlier this year, was the only Super Eagles star to make the initial 30-man shortlist.

However, Simon has not made it into the final cut.

The Nantes foward has now been dropped alongside 19 other players with a list of 10 contenders to produce a further final three nominees.

The players in the final 10 are: Riyad Mahrez, Mohamed Salah, Edouard Mendy, Vincent Aboubakar, Achraf Hakimi, Naby Keita, Karl Toko Ekambi, Sadio Mane, Kalidou Koulibaly and Sebastian Haller.

In the Young Player of the Year category, Akinkunmi Amoo was also snubbed in the final five nominees, after making the initial 10-man shortlist.

Senegal’s Pape Matar Sarr, Ghana’s Kamaldeen Suleymana, Hannibal Mejbri, Dango Ouattara and Karim Konate were the final nominees for the award.