Ballon d’Or 2022: Thibaut Courtois wins Yashin Trophy

Thibaut Courtois, the goalie for Real Madrid, received the Yashin Trophy for his outstanding efforts in the 2021–2022 campaign.

Following his 2018 transfer to the Santiago Bernabeu, Courtois largely failed to match his Atletico Madrid and Chelsea days’ performances, but he did put on a few standout performances as Real Madrid won La Liga and the Champions League last season.

His greatest moment came in the Champions League final in May, when Los Blancos defeated Liverpool 1-0 at the Stade de France while he kept a clean sheet and made a number of incredible saves. For his efforts, Courtois received the Player of the Match award.

Alisson won the inaugural prize when the award was given out in 2019, making Courtois the third recipient. Gianluigi Donnarumma received the Yashin Trophy when the Ballon d’Or awards were resumed in 2021 after being suspended by France Football in 2020.

Although this is Courtois’ first time receiving the award formally, the RSSSF retroactively declared that he would have won in 2018 because he received the highest number of votes among goalkeepers for the Ballon d’Or.

With Real Madrid still undefeated this season and appearing a safe bet to at least retain their La Liga title, Courtois has carried his excellent form from last season into this one.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top