World Cup qualifiers: Cape Verde arrive Lagos for crunch Super Eagles clash

Osimhen-Cape Verde

Cape Verde players and officials have touched down in Lagos, ahead of their crunch 2022 World Cup qualifier against Nigeria on Tuesday.

The Blues Sharks arrive for the game following a 2-1 win over the Central African Republic.

The victory ensures they still have the chance of qualifying for the third round, where Africa’s five representatives will be determined.

Having departed Mindelo on Sunday afternoon, Bubista’s men landed at the Murtala Muhammed International airport after a four-hour trip.

They will commence their preparations for facing Gernot Rohr’s men on Monday morning at the Teslim Balogun Stadium.

Aside from winning the only ticket in Group C, Cape Verde would be hoping to avenge their defeat against the three-time African champions inside Estadio Municipal Aderito Sena.

Despite Cape Verde taking a 19th-minute lead through Dylan Tavares dos Santos, Nigeria bounced back to secure a 2-1 victory courtesy of goals from Napoli’s Victor Osimhen plus an own goal from Garry Mendes Rodrigues.

Goalkeepers: Josimar Dias ‘Vozinha’ (AEL Limassol Cyprus), Dylan Silva (Portimonense Portugal), Marcio Rosa (Montalegre Portugal)

Defenders: Steve Furtado (Beroe, Bulgaria), Jeffry Fortes (De Grafschaap, Netherlands), Dylan Tavares (Neuchatel Xamax, Switzerland), Joao Paulo Fernandes (Feirense, Portugal), Ianique Tavares ‘Stopira’ (MOL Vidi, Hungary), Carlos “Ponck” (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey), Steven Fortes (Oostende, Belgium), Roberto Lopes (Shamrock Rovers, Republic of Ireland), Diney (FAR Rabat, Morocco)

Midfielders: Marco Soare (Arouca, Portugal) M Kenny Rocha (Oostende, Belgium) Patrick Andrade (Qarabag, Azerbaijan), Jamiro Monteiro (Philadelphia Union, United States of America), Nuno Borges (Casa Pia, Portugal), Nenas (Aalesund, Norway)

Forwards: Ryan Mendes (Al Nasr, United Arab Emirates), Willis Furtado (FK Jerv, Norway), Vagner Dias (Sion, Switzerland), Willy Semedo (Papfos, Cyprus), Garry Rodrigues (Olympiacos, Greece), Marcelo Lopes (Voluntari, Romania), Julio Tavares (Al Faisaly, Saudi Arabia), Gilson Tavares (Estoril Praia)

Click to comment
To Top