The Best FIFA Awards: Lewandowski wins ahead of Messi

Robert Lewandowski FIFA Best

Bayern Munich striker, Robert Lewandowski, on Monday won FIFA’s The Best Award ahead of Lionel Messi and Mohammed Salah.

Lewandowski has now equalled Cristiano Ronaldo’s record by winning it for the second time.

The Poland international retained his FIFA The Best award following an incredible campaign in which he scored a Bundesliga record 41 goals, fighting off competition from Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah.

Paris Saint-Germain forward Lionel Messi, the 2019 winner, failed to add to his 2021 Ballon d’Or award as he finished second with Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah in third place.

The award was first handed out in its present guise in 2016, after FIFA ended their five-year partnership with the Ballon d’Or. Ronaldo, who was given a special award for breaking the international men’s goal scoring record in 2021, won back-to-back awards in the first two years.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top