LaLiga top goal scorers 2022/23: Benzema struggles as Lewandowski leads race for Pichichi trophy

Benzema leads Real Madrid to victory

Karim Benzema, the winner of the Ballon d’Or, was benched once more against Girona on Sunday due to quad fatigue, and he is still only up to five goals for the season as he struggles with his fitness ahead of the World Cup.

On the other hand, Robert Lewandowski of Barcelona scored a dramatic goal in a 1-0 away victory over Valencia on Saturday to give him a league-leading total of nine goals. He now has a six-goal advantage over his closest pursuers.

Behind Lewandowski is Borja Iglesias, who scored his most recent goal against Real Sociedad on Sunday, giving Real Betis a crucial victory on the road. Espanyol’s Joselu, who blanked on Friday and couldn’t keep up, is one back in third.

Federico Valverde and Vinicius Jr., who are leading the Merengues with six goals in La Liga, are two Real Madrid players who are prepared to challenge Lewandowski.

The most recent La Liga top scorers list can be found below as the stars compete for the coveted Pichichi trophy at season’s end.

La Liga Top Scorers Table (2022-2023)

Updated as of Sunday, October 30.

RankPlayerClubGoals (PKs)AssistsMatchesMins
1.Robert LewandowskiBarcelona13 (0)512947
2.Borja IglesiasReal Betis8 (3)212914
3.JoseluEspanyol7 (2)0121080
4.Vinicius JrReal Madrid6 (0)3121,051
 Iago AspasCelta Vigo6 (1)211915
 Federico ValverdeReal Madrid6 (0)212928
 Vedat MuriqiMallorca6 (2)010870
8.Antoine GriezmannAtletico Madrid5 (0)312606
 Brais MendezReal Sociedad5 (0)211899
 Sergio LeonReal Valladolid5 (1)110443
 Karim BenzemaReal Madrid5 (1)17628
 Alvaro MorataAtletico Madrid5 (0)112691
 Inaki WilliamsAthletic Bilbao5 (0)112979
15.RodrygoReal Madrid4 (1)410742
 Ezequiel AvilaOsasuna4 (2)111678
 Edinson CavaniValencia4 (2)17435
 Alex BaenaVillarreal4 (0)011540
 Cristhian StuaniGirona4 (3)08364
  • 3 goals: 18 players
  • 2 goals: 32 players
  • 1 goal: 85 players
  • Own goals: 5

There have been 310 total goals scored in La Liga this season with five of them coming via an own goal:

  • Celta Vigo (1): Unai Nunez
  • Elche (1): Nicolas Fernandez
  • Getafe (1): Domingos Duarte
  • Rayo Vallecano (1): Ivan Balliu
  • Valencia (1): Nico Gonzalez
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top