CAF releases final three-man shortlist for Player of the Year

CAF revised kick-off

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has cut down the number of players in the race for different categories in the 2022 Awards to three.

This year’s event will be held on Thursday in Rabat, Morocco.

In the senior men’s category, Liverpool and Senegal striker Sadio Mane, who recently signed for Bayern Munich against Mohamed Salah (of Egypt and Liverpool) and Edouard Mendy (of Senegal and Chelsea) make the final cut.

Full list of top three nominees (in alphabetical order)

Player of the Year (Women); Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona), Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt).

Player of the Year (Men); Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool) and Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich).

Interclub Player of the Year (Women); Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns, Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns), Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes).

Interclub Player of the Year (Men); Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly), and Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly).

Young Player of the Year (Women); Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies, Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes), and Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne).

Young Player of the Year (Men); Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United), Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg), and Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur).

Coach of the Year (Women); Bruce Mwape (Zambia), Desiree Ellis (South Africa), and Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns), and Reynald Pedros (Morocco).

Coach of the Year (Men); Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Carlos Queiroz (Egypt), Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club).

Club of the Year (Women); AS FAR (Morocco), Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa).

Club of the Year (Men); Al Ahly (Egypt), RS Berkane (Morocco), and Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco).

National Team of the Year (Men); Cameroon, Egypt, and Senegal.

Goal of the Year; Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates), Peter Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba), and El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top