Ballon d’Or 2022: Robert Lewandowski wins Muller Trophy


Robert Lewandowski has been named the winner of the Muller Trophy, which honors the world’s top striker for the 2021–2022 season.

France Football renamed the prize, which was formerly known as the “Striker of the Year,” in memory of legendary German shooter Gerd Muller, who passed away in August 2021.

Lewandowski has won the award for a second consecutive year, keeping the trophy that was reportedly created solely to placate the player after being passed over for the 2021 Ballon d’Or award.

The Polish striker broke the Bundesliga record for most goals by a foreign player in 2021–2022, scoring an incredible 50 goals in just 46 appearances across all competitions for Bayern. He also won his second consecutive European Golden Shoe.

Since moving to Barcelona in the summer, the striker has kept up his astonishing rate of goal scoring. For his new team, Lewa has already scored 14 goals in just 13 games.

Most Popular

To Top