AFCON 2025: CAF to conduct preliminary round draw Tuesday


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) will conduct the preliminary round draw for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations at its headquarters in Cairo, Egypt on Tuesday, February 20.

CAF has confirmed that the event will start at 2pm local time.

The eight lowest-ranked teams in the last FIFA ranking will be involved in the preliminary round.

They are: Somalia, Djibouti, Sao Tome, Chad, Mauritius, South Sudan, Liberia and Eswatini.

The games will be played on home and away basis between March, 18-26 in 2024.

The four preliminary round winners will join the 44 exempted teams for the group stage.

24 teams will take part at the AFCON 2025 finals to be hosted by Morocco.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top