why Real Madrid players will continue to win Ballon d’Or – Perez

Real Madrid President Florentino Perez said Luka Modric will not be the last player from Real Madrid to win the highly coveted Ballon d’Or award.

Croatia Midfielder Modric, saw off competition from the likes of Ronaldo, Messi and Griezmann to win the award.

“Real Madrid have a very important affair with this prestigious trophy.

“It’s a beautiful love story between the Ballon d’Or and Real Madrid and I’m sure it’s going to continue,” Perez said.

It was the 10th time in history a Real Madrid player has won the award, while Modric became seventh individual player from the club to win it.

Alfredo di Stefano won two of the first four Ballon d’Or awards in 1957 and 1959, while team-mate Raymond Copa took home the trophy in 1958.

Despite that early success, the pair were the last two Madrid players to win the Ballon d’Or for over 40 years, until another Portugal superstar, Luis Figo, broke the drought with his victory in 2000.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top