Connect with us


Uba Sani of APC wins Kaduna governorship election



Senator Uba Sani of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has been declared as the winner of the Kaduna governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The INEC Collation Officer, Prof. Lawal Bilbis, who announced the result said the APC candidate polled 730,002 votes while his closest rival, Isah Ashiru Kudan of the Peoples Democratic Party, scored 719,196 votes.

He added that the Labour Party candidate, Jonathan Asake, polled 58,283 to come third while the New Nigeria Peoples Party candidate, Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi, came to a distant fourth with 21,405 votes while rejected votes stood at 19,114.

The PDP candidate won in 13 LGAs of the state while Sani, the incumbent Senator representing the Kaduna Central Senatorial District of the state, won 10 LGAs.

The LGAs won by Ashiru include, Kaura, Sanga, Kajuru, Jaba, Makarfi, Jema’ah, Zango-Kataf, Soba, Chikun, Kagarko, Kachia,Lere and Kudan.

The APC candidate won in Giwa, Ikara, Kauru, Sabon-Gari, Zaria, Kubau, Kaduna South, Kaduna North, Igabi, and Birnin-Gwari.

However, prior to the announcement, there were wild jubilations in some parts of the state that the PDP candidate won the election, a development that saw residents celebrating the victory at the various joints in the state.