Connect with us


Mudashiru Obasa re-elected Lagos Assembly speaker



Mudashiru Obasa, the member representing the Agege 1 constituency at the Lagos State House of Assembly, has been re-elected as Speaker of the House for the third term.

Obasa was nominated by Temitope Adewale representing Ifako-Ijaiye 1 state constituency.

He emerged as Speaker of the 10th Assembly shortly after the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, proclaimed the Assembly Tuesday morning.

Monisola Lasbat (Apapa I), Chief Whip of the Ninth Assembly, was also elected Deputy Speaker of the 10th Assembly after her nomination and general acceptance by the House.

Obasa’s nomination was seconded by the lawmaker representing Epe II, Ogunkelu Sylvester Oluwadahunsi. It was a unianimous nomination.

The 10th Lagos State House of Assembly, which comprises 40 members, is dominated by the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC which has 38 members while the Labour Party has two members.

20 of the lawmakers are returning while the other 20 are first-term lawmakers.