Luka Modric named Winner of 2018 Ballon d’Or

Highly respected Spanish newspaper, Marca reports that Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric will be named the 2018 Ballon d’Or winner, and this will end the 10-year duopoly of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

The last player to win the prize apart from Messi and Ronaldo, was Kaka in December 2007.

With five Ballon d’Ors each, their domination began in 2008 with the Portuguese attacker winning as a Manchester United player.

Ronaldo however will not be at Monday evening’s gala, as he has already been informed he is not the winner.

It will crown a big year for Modric, who has already won UEFA Best Player in Europe.

The midfielder led his country to the final of the 2018 World Cup in Russia and has won the last three Champions League titles with Madrid.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top