INEC deregisters 74 political parties (See list)


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has deregistered 74 political parties in Nigeria.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu made this known while speaking at a news conference on Thursday in Abuja.

“The political parties were deregistered because of their failure to meet various criteria stipulated by the constitution during the elections, ” Yakubu said.

INEC is ow left with 18 officially registered political parties after 74 got dropped from 92 which the electoral body formerly had.

See the list of deregistered parties below.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top