Bill seeking creation of new state in South East scales first reading

ekpeyong bassey senate

A bill which is seeking the creation of Etiti State in the South-East, was read for the first time today, on the floor of the House of Representatives during plenary.

The bill is being sponsored by Amobi Ogah, Miriam Onuoha, Kama Nkemkama, Chinwe Nnabuife and Anayo Onwuegbu.

It is seeking the proposed state to be created out of the present Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu and Imo states.

When created, Etiti State will have 11 local government areas drawn from the five states with the capital to be located at Lokpanta.

The bill is seeking to alter three sections of the 1999 constitution, to delete the word 36 and replace it with 37 to accommodate the new state and to insert the word Etiti, immediately after Enugu in the list of states contained in the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

It also seeks to alter the listing of local governments areas according to states and transfer the 11 local government areas from their current states to the new state.

The local governments to be affected if the state is created are Isuikwuato and Umu-Nneochi (Abia), Orumba North and Orumba South (Anambra), Ivo and Ohaozara (Ebonyi), Aninri, Awgu and Oji River (Enugu) as well as Okigwe and Onuimo (Imo).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top