9 Buhari’s ministers officially resign ahead of elections


At least nine Ministers in President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet, have resigned their appointments because of their political ambition.

This leaves Buhari looking for the replacements ahead of the 2023 elections.

The cabinet members who resigned their appointment include the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; the Minister of Niger Delta Affair, Godswill Akpabio; Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, and Minister of State, Niger Delta Affairs, Tayo Alasoadura.

Others are the Ministers of Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen; State, Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; State, Mines and Steel Development, Uche Ogar, and State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba.

The President had at the end of Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council meeting ordered all cabinet members with political ambition to resign on or before Monday.

Buhari’s order was in line with the provision of Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act which provides that, “No political appointee at any level shall be a voting delegate or be voted for at the convention or congress of any political party for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top