Headlines

Netflix Film Review: Why we expected more from ‘Man of God’

Netflix Film Review Man of God

Before writing this review, I had to re-watch the movie all over again to be avoid being bias but still, somehow the excitement and thrill it promised from the beginning just went bleh at some point and when it ended, my reaction was, how can this be all?

Man of God which dropped on Netflix hours ago was directed by Bolanle Austen-Peters and tells the story of a man who forsakes Christianity due to how he was harshly raised by his dad, a Clergy man. He delves into music but his soul remains caught between the world and the faith he left behind.

The almost 2 hours long movie features Nollywood stars; Akah Nnani, Osas Ighodaro, Prince Nelson Enwerem, Dorcas Shola Fapson, Atlanta Bridget Johnson, Patrick Doyle, Jude Chukwuka, Eucharia Anunobi, Shawn Faqua, Mawuli Gavor, Olumide Oworu and many others.

As expected, the movie production was top notch and stellar, as a matter of fact, all the characters, deserve an applause for brilliantly interpreting their roles per excellence especially Dorcas Shola Fapson, who played Rekz. Akah also embodied his role as Samuel. In addition, it felt refreshing seeing Eucharia Anunobi play a Bishop’s Wife; oh how she has been gravely missed on the screens.

Asides that, the storyline and plots were amiss and had no fire, making it a just okay movie but it could have been so much more. The story progression was quite disjointed and unsatisfying. Could it be that some parts were cut out of the movie, otherwise why was the build up the first half promised, suddenly watered down like that.

Also some scenes didn’t add up. Like when Samuel was on bed with Teju and then we suddenly find him talking with Joy, what was that about? Oh by the way, having Joy show up again years later, didn’t make any sense, it wasn’t even necessary because it added no value to the story if you ask me. There was also the plot of an elder sister who was trying to find justice for her younger sister that was impregnated but died after aborting the baby, it wasn’t followed through, it was just left hanging.

We were made to believe Samuel’s church business was booming well, so well that he was able to get a mansion for himself and wife only for him to be asking Rekz for some money to relocate in another scene, that was quite confusing? Was Rekz his bankroller or the church business? These are just a few of some of the disjointed plots that sprung up in the movie, thereby leaving it as a just okay film.

From us at Kemi Filani, it is 5/10 for the great production and acting and that’s just about that.

26 Comments

26 Comments

  1. Nimota

    April 18, 2022 at 12:55 pm

    Been waiting for your review of the movie o and you are very correct.

    I was excited and glued at the beginning to half way into the movie, and it became very somehow. Maybe some scenes were taken out like you said probably because it was too long after edit.

  2. Dolapo

    April 18, 2022 at 1:09 pm

    Exactly what I observed. It’s all disjointed and looked like either a badly edited movie or a movie hurriedly put together. What actually led to Samuel’s arrest wasn’t quite known. He committed a lot of atrocities. He’s expected to be rich, but then suddenly started asking Reks for money, that was where I lost interest totally and just got up!

  3. Vee

    April 18, 2022 at 2:14 pm

    I agree. Also, the fact that Osas was delivering letters from his mother at the beginning when they were at uni. But when he married her, this same Osas did not advise him to go home to see the same mother until she died. Also, with Osas’ pious character, how was she the same character to vindictively sell out Akah to the security agents?

  4. Dee

    April 18, 2022 at 3:11 pm

    Sure, the movie was badly edited but the most confusing part was when the pastor said he wanted to relocate…why. ???? Why would a big pastor who is doing well and making money just drop everything and chose to relocate to Canada ???? What’s was he running from or going to do ? An explanation should have been given. The plot was bad.

  5. Anonymous

    April 18, 2022 at 7:03 pm

    I watched half way but got bored, so I dropped it

  6. kim

    April 18, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    Did he leave house because his father was abusing him or because he was running away from his callings? His dad never apologized for once and then he went back home like a prodigal son lol😂… It just leaves you lacking at the end, like that satisfaction of watching a good movie was just not there. I watched with so much expectations for this movie, but I was not totally satisfied. The movie was just there. Could have been a hit sha, it has potential, but it didn’t get there. I loved Rekya sha, Rekya was a WHOLE VIBE!!! She has an answer for everything!!!!

  7. Bisi

    April 18, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    All I can say is I skipped alot of scenes, didn’t watch till the end. I did not exactly get the moral of the story. Did his dad have dementia or something? Alot of scenes didn’t add up like you said. I really had to go look for reviews online.

    • jude

      April 20, 2022 at 4:25 pm

      I don’t understand the movie….aside the production and the acting, the movie has no plot. Totally a waste of 2 hours

  8. Olu

    April 19, 2022 at 11:10 am

    Honestly the movie didn’t meet expectations at all. So many scenes were just blah. I expected more. I just had to finish because I felt I had invest my time starting. Story line was not it at all. And the Bolanle woman showing up was for ? One moment it was Rheks then Joy then Teju suddenly…acting was great by all though. It’s a 4/10 for me. Sorry.

    • korede

      April 19, 2022 at 2:46 pm

      lmao, as per the movie producer, she wan be stan lee and do cameo

  9. bose

    April 19, 2022 at 2:44 pm

    y’all just be condemning and hating for no reason. if it is that easy, then goan produce your own movie and dont just sit behind the screen typing shit. i loved it and it was very nice and interesting and fun.

    • Dee

      April 20, 2022 at 5:53 am

      The only way art can get better is through criticism. So it’s good it gets these reviews. The movie was ok but it wasn’t all that special.

  10. Kris

    April 19, 2022 at 4:08 pm

    I beg to differ, I love the plot. It’s different and I don’t think it was rushed. The only little thing I agree with is that I also felt some parts were cut out. But in all I loved it, Akan’s acting was impressive. I didn’t think he was this great. But he surprised me, everyone else brought their A game.
    Talking about Samuel on the bed, he was obviously dreaming, that wasn’t so hard to figure out. That’s what happens when you agree to be with a guy who you know in your heart deeply loves someone else. The guy was obviously dreaming about the babe and that further re- ignited his passion for the old flame, making him lose the little affection he ever had for his present wife. That’s life. Moral of the story, don’t ever settle to be a second option.
    The girl who’s sister died at some point went to see the police guy, he told her couldn’t help her except she produced evidence. There was nothing else she could do to make Sam pay except by taunting him with those messages. That’s life and very realistic in my opinion. I feel some of you like all those unrealistic movie plot where the girl makes him pay automatically through some grandiose scheme. That doesn’t always happen. Take Biodun Fatioyinbo for example.
    Then about him needing money, that’s also realistic, there are time where you might have a lot of asset and be liquid cash trapped. He might have the bulk of him money tied down in his fixed assets or other investments and not have enough cash to make that sudden move. Y’all don’t seem to realize people get depressed and want to run away from everything. Being with a wife you don’t love, knowing in your heart you are a fraud, someone sending you anonymous text messages about a secret that if it come out, it can ruin you. You don’t know how much information she actually has. Yes it very realistic in my opinion.
    The only part I hoped to see more was the Mawuli part, I kinda wished he appeared more and added more spice with a love triangle plot. How can you make him appear twice or trice?
    Aside from that it’s was a nice movie. I give it 7.5/10.

    • SOM

      April 19, 2022 at 10:19 pm

      I agree with you a 100 percent 👏

    • Emerald

      April 20, 2022 at 4:23 pm

      How did Deaconess Ajayi(Teju’s mum) allow or agreed for Teju to marry Sammy even though he was the black sheep of the family? Also, how come she didn’t tell her daughter Sammy’s mum died? This movie gave me a lot of headache 😂let’s not even talk about the relationship with Joy

      • Jully

        April 20, 2022 at 9:07 pm

        U can’t watch movie questioning every scene na. That means you will not be able to watch fast n furiousn d likes. How do u even begin to connect the dots in those type of movies.

    • Rekia

      May 3, 2022 at 3:29 am

      Supported 👏👏👏

  11. Affinity

    April 19, 2022 at 4:33 pm

    I think some questions were answered already.

    He chose to leave the church business due to his love for Joy. He wanted to leave the town, knowing fully well that he never really loved his wife.

  12. Kristie

    April 19, 2022 at 4:46 pm

    I beg to differ, I believe it was a nice movie. I think it’s more realistic than y’all would want it to be.
    First point raised, why was Sam on the bed with joy, really? He was obviously dreaming, that’s what happens when you decide to settle to be with a guy you know in your heart deeply loves someone else. The dream re-ignited his feelings for joy, and automatically diminishing what ever little affection he had for his wife. Moral of the story, never settle to be a second option. She was more into him than he into her.
    The point about the sister of the girl that died, yes, she went to see the police detective at some point, he told her there was nothing he could do except she produced some evidence. That’s very realistic in my opinion, since she couldn’t she resorted to taunting him with anonymous messages. Y’all were expecting her to come up with some grandiose scheme of exposing him? In life that doesn’t always happen. Take Biodun fatioyinbo for example.
    Also the point about him asking for money and wanting to relocate, that’s realistic in my opinion. Wealthy people often get cash trapped, yes you can have large building and structures, but can have liquidity problems. He might have the bulk of him money tied down in assets and other investment projects. Yes people get depressed about their lives and just want to run away from everything. Being with a wife you don’t love, knowing in your heart you are a fraud. His conscience with always steal his peace and joy in between knowing he is not what he project’s himself to be. Also having someone threaten you about a secret that can ruin you you. He doesn’t know how much she knows, that alone can make you wanna run away.
    In all, Akah wow and impressed me a lot. I didn’t know he was that good. The others were impressive as well, they all brought their A game.
    The only thing I wished they did better was utilize Mawuli better, they should have used him more a spice things up with a love triangle plot. How can you show Mawuli just twice or thrice? I feel they wasted the guys potentials. Maybe I agree with the part that they probably cut some parts out.
    In all I think I love the story and the plot. I love a good redemption story. I give it 7.5/10.

    • Dorcas

      April 19, 2022 at 10:43 pm

      Kristie!!! It was like you literally read my mind. This is exactly what I think about the movie. Everything you said are my exact thoughts on the movie. It was very relatable and the missing parts are easily deducible.

    • Jully

      April 20, 2022 at 9:02 pm

      Finally someone said something nice! I totally agree with u Kris. First bringing Joy back was necessary jare, we needed d closure and Sam too. Joy choosing her husband over Sam despite their condition made Sam realize Joy was over him for good and that even made him want to leave everything behind and take off.True some scenes were not necessary like Rayka getting a house while in schl and then she travelled out, so what was the house part for. It was a good movie to me shaa, different from the regular Nollywood stories. 4stars from me

  13. Anonymous

    April 19, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    Lol. This was aptly put. Also, the part where Teju was there all through Samuel’s university days was somehow since we already established that Samuel was in school for that long cos he had carryovers.

    Does this mean that Teju stayed in school with him till he finally graduated? Lol

  14. Emerald

    April 20, 2022 at 4:20 pm

    There were different relationships in the movie that could have been explored in a series. They could have also gone in-depth into the whole system that enables fake pastoring and church business, as well as explore the effect of their family dynamics and abuse on the 2 boys. The story had the potential to hit it big as a series. It could have been an impactful one if it was delivered in bits because the messages were super relevant!

    • Anonymous

      April 21, 2022 at 2:12 pm

      Ezozp o

  15. Vivian

    April 20, 2022 at 9:15 pm

    Let us first appreciate this was a good movie all factors constant and the acting was also good. however there is always room for improvement. My biggest issue is; the movie is called man of God but we spend less than 30 minutes with him as a man of God I think we should have seen him more in that role.They spent too much time in the build up at university actually I think Joy should have been in flashback too much screen time was given to her. They should have used that as a way to explain what was wrong with the man of God. And the scandals with the money laundering were not brought out well. Finally the ending was wanting what happend to the church and Teju?

  16. Sophie

    April 21, 2022 at 12:44 pm

    Was Samuel really the black sheep of the family? Remember his choice of lifestyle stemmed from the abuse he received from his father as a child. If Teju was the daughter to deaconness ajayi, and both teju and her mum knew Sam’s mum, how come Sam’s mum had no idea about teju and Sam getting married? Was it a secret marriage? Dam became a popular pastor and his mum had no single idea? Also, why did Joy take it so personal when she heard that Sam was the prophet’s son? Did she ever know him when she was a child? There was no explanation for her anger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top