Spain releases 23-man squad for Russia 2018 world cup, Morata left out

Spain has announced its 23-man squad for Russia 2018 world cup. Julen Lopetegui of Spain made the announcement which has Chelsea’s Alvaro Morata, who is currently Spain’s most expensive player, missing in the squad.

The former Real Madrid forward has struggled for form in the second half of his first with the blues. H ended the season scoring 15 goals in 47 appearances for Chelsea having joined for a club record £60 million ($80.5m) in the summer of 2017.

The likes of Diego Costa, Iago Aspas and Rodrigo Moreno have been preferred by head coach Julen Lopetegui.

Reacting to the news, Morata  wished the team “the best of luck at the World Cup” and that he’ll be “supporting and encouraging the team until the end always”.


Spain 23-man squad for Russia 2018


Goalkeepers: Pepe Reina (Napoli), David de Gea (Manchester United), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Nacho Fernandez, Sergio Ramos, Dani Carvajal (all Real Madrid), Gerard Pique, Jordi Alba (both FC Barcelona), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Cesar Azpilicueta (both Chelsea)

Midfielders: Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets (both FC Barcelona), Saul Niguez, Koke (both Atletico Madrid), Isco, Marco Asensio (both Real Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City)

Forwards: Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Rodrigo (Valencia), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid)

Spain releases 23-man squad for Russia 2018 world cup, Morata left out

Follow @kemifilanisblog

Russia 2018: Argentina releases 35-man provisional world cup squad


Click to comment
To Top