UK warns against travel to 21 states in Nigeria

The United Kingdom, UK, has warned British citizens against traveling to 21 states in Nigeria. This was made known through its Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

The warning which was posted on its website comes as a result of Boko Haram terrorists activities in the North-east, banditry in the North-west and militancy in the South-south.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office warned against travels to the following states: Borno, Yobe, Adamawa Gombe, Delta, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Cross River.

Travels to Bauchi, Zamfara, Kano, Jigawa, Katsina, Kogi, Sokoto, Kebbi states and also within 20km of the border with Niger are also warned against.

American actor, Tracy Morgan involved in accident 15 minutes after buying $2m Bugatti

“Attacks could be indiscriminate and could affect western interests as well as places visited by tourists. Besides Abuja, other major towns and cities remain particularly at risk, including Kano and Kaduna,” it stated.

The FCO pointed out that Kidnappings are high in the country and motivated by terrorists and for political and financial gains.

It stated, “The security environment in the northeast has deteriorated since 2018 and there is a heightened risk of kidnap.

“There is also a high threat of criminal kidnap in the Niger Delta region and Kogi State. If you travel to areas to which the FCO advise against travel, you are particularly at risk and will need a high level of security.”

Presidency speaks on book by Isha Sesay about Chibok girls and Leah Sharibu
UK warns against travel to 21 states in Nigeria

Asegg Adeniyi

Asegg Adeniyi, writes entertainment and national news on Kemi Filani News . A passionate writer who loves to disseminate informative reports on topics bordering on celebrities, lifestyle, sports and politics. A Graduate from the Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology LAUTECH , with aspirations to reach the top. Loves football and epic movies set in the medieval times. Email: [email protected] Tel: +2348061000090 Address: 13 Akonwonjo, Egbeda, Lagos, Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button