28 states where election will hold today…full list of major contenders

Today, Nigerians will return to the polls to elect their state governors and legislators as well councilors for the six Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Area Councils.

The governorship election will take place in 29 states as the elections in remaining seven other states of Edo, Kogi, Ondo, Ekiti, Anambra, Osun and Bayelsa were already conducted off season by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The positions include Governors in 29 States and 991 members of state Houses of Assembly as well as the six Chairmen and 62 Councilors for the Area Councils in the FCT.

The major states keenly contested for are Rivers, Lagos, Ogun, Benue, Kwara, Imo, Abia, Kaduna, Akwa Ibom, Kano amongst others.

These include 64 governorship candidates in Rivers, 44 in Plateau, Kaduna 38, Adamawa 29, Jigawa 18, Delta 50, Cross Rivers 26, Kebbi 31 and Ogun 41 candidates.

Some of the major contenders include Lagos [Babajide Sanwo-Olu of the All Progressive Congress (APC) vs Jimi Agbaje of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)]; Benue [Governor Samuel Ortom (PDP) vs Emmanuel Jime (APC)]; Kwara [Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq (APC) vs Abdulrazaq Atunwa (PDP)]; Abia [Okezie Ikpeazu (PDP) vs Alex Otti (APGA)], Waziri Tambuwal vs Ahmed Aliyu [Sokoto state], Nasir El-Rufai vs Isa Ashiru [Kaduna state]

Also, on the same day, about 14,000 candidates will vie for 991 State House of Assembly seats.

For the FCT Area Council election, a total of 105 candidates are contesting for the six chairmanship positions while 701 candidates seek to occupy the 62 councillorship seats.

List of 28 states: Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Benue, Bauchi, Borno, Ogun, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu,Gombe, Imo, Oyo, Lagos, Rivers, Kaduna, Kwara, Katsina, Kano , Kebbi, Lagos, Taraba, Plateau, Jigawa, Nasarawa, Niger, Yobe, Sokoto

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top