Categories: News

#NigeriaDecides Governorship Election Results: See the winners, the losers

Out of the 29 governorship states contested on Saturday, April 11,
the All Progressives Congress has so far, won 19 states, while the
Peoples Democratic Party, has won 4 states.

With the huge victory recorded by the APC, the party has now become the dominant party in Nigeria.

The PDP has won in Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi, Gombe and Enugu and at last count, is leading in Rivers, Delta and Taraba.

APC on the other hand has won the governorship election in Kaduna,
Sokoto, Niger, Borno, Adamawa, Lagos, Kwara, Katsina, Bauchi, Kano,
Yobe, Zamfara, Oyo, Ogun, Benue, Imo, Nasarawa, Jigawa and Benue.

The party is also leading in Plateau and Kebbi states. Here is the list of winners announced so far:

Oyo State
Oyo State governor who is under APC, Abiola Ajimobi, won the elections, and will be continuing his tenure as governor.
APC polled 327,310, Accord- 254,520, LP – 184,111, PDP – 79,019 and
SDP- 54,740. His victory makes him the first Oyo State governor to be
re-elected for a second term, Premium Times reports.
Akwa Ibom
PDP’s Udom Emmanuel won the governorship election in Akwa Ibom.
Emmanuel scored 996, 071 votes to defeat his APC opponent, Umana Umana, who got 89, 865 votes, Leadership reports.
Ogun State
APC’s Ibikunle Amosun, won the Ogun State elections and will rule the state for a second term.
Premium Times reports that “the incumbent secured 306,988 votes to defeat Gboyega Isiaka of People’s Democratic Party, PDP, who had 201,440 votes. The Social Democratic Party, SDP, candidate, Akin Odunsi, came third with 25,826 votes.”
Lagos State
APC candidate, Akinwunmi Ambode won in Lagos State.
Channels reports that “Ambode polled 811,994 votes, with the runner-up and the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Jimi Agbaje, polling  659,788 votes.”
Ebonyi State
Ebonyi State deputy governor and PDP candidate, Dave Umahi won the Ebonyi elections.
Leadership states
that “Umahi polled a total of 289, 867 votes to emerged winner after
defeating his closest rival, the Labour party candidate, Sir Edward
Nkwegu who pulled a total of 124, 817 votes.The All Progressives
Congress (APC) candidate, Senator Juluis Ucha got a total of 27, 583
Sokoto State
Current speaker of the House of Representatives and APC candidate, Aminu Tambuwal, emerged winner of the Sokoto governorship elections.
Tambuwal scored 647,609 votes to beat his major rival and former political benefactor, PDP’S Abdallah Wali, who polled 269,074 votes, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
Katsina State
Former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Masari, won the governorship election in Katsina State on the APC platform
“Masari polled 943,085 votes to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Musa Nashuni, who scored 476,768 votes in the Saturday election,” Premium Times reports.
Kwara State
Kwara State governor Abdulfatah Ahmed won the elections.
polled 295,832 votes to defeat his closest rival, Senator Simeon
Ajibola of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 115,220
votes, according to Premium Times.
Imo State

Incumbent governor, APC’s Rochas Okorocha is in the lead.
Although election results have not been officially announced yet a Channels TV
news broadcast revealed that Okorocha had won in 20 out of 27 local
governments in the state, and he is currently leading with over 50,000
Update: INEC declares Imo State elections inconclusive
Niger State

APC candidate Abubakar Bello won.
Bello polled 593,702 votes to defeat Umar Nasko of PDP who got 239,772 votes. He won 23 of the 25 local government areas announced, Punch reports.
Plateau State
APC gubernatorial candidate for Plateau State, Simon Lalong, has been declared winner. Lalong defeated the PDP candidate, Gyang Pwajok, a serving senator representing Plateau north in the National Assembly, with 520,627 votes, Premium Times reports.Rivers State
PDP candidate, Nyesom Wike won the Rivers State governorship elections.
He defeated APC candidate Dakuku Peterside, with a total of 1,029,102 votes. Peterside polled 124,896 votes, Channels reports.
Kano State
Abdullahi Ganduje,
the Deputy Governor of the state and APC gubernatorial candidate,
emerged winner in the governorship race. Ganduje scored 1.5 million
votes, to defeat Takai of the PDP, who got 509, 726 votes, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
Adamawa State
Bindo Jibrilla of APC triumphed over 11 other contestants, amongst them, Malam Nuhu Ribadu,
to emerge winner of Adamawa Governorship election. Declaring the result
in the early hours of Monday, the Returning Officer of the election, Geofrey Okogbaa, said Jibrilla scored 362, 329 votes out of the 684, 050 total valid  votes cast, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
Nasarawa State
Incumbent Governor Umaru Al-makura
of the APC retained his seat, scoring 309,746 votes, to defeat his
closet opponent, former Information Minister, Mr Labaran Maku of APGA,
who polled 178,983 votes,, and three other contestants, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
Kebbi State
APC also won the governorship seat in Kebbi State, with its candidate, Atiku Bagudu, garnering  477,376 votes, to defeat 16 other candidates, NAN reports.
Tireni Adebayo

Tireni Adebayo is the Editor of Kemi Filani News. She has BSC in Mass Communication from the Redeemer's University and M.A in Mass Communication from the University of Lagos (2014 - 2015) where she majored in Public Relations and Advertising and Digital Media.  When she is not writing, she is either listening to music or reading her favorite books. Tel: +2348000000901 Address: Herbert Macaulay, Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria Email:

Leave a Comment