Categories: News

Dangote, Adenuga, Obaseki, Suswan, 146 other Nigerians shortlisted for National Honours

149 Nigerians have been shortlisted to be conferred with National Honours
on September 17, 2012. A statement on Sunday by the Permanent Secretary
(Special Duties Office) in the Office of the Secretary to the
Government of the Federation, Dr. Henry Akpan said.

The statement said, “President Goodluck Jonathan will conduct the 2012 National Honours Award Investiture of deserving Nigerians and friends of Nigeria”

Among the recipients are six Supreme Court Justices (CFR); the
Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar (CFR); Gabriel Igbinedion
(CFR), former Managing Director of UBA Plc, Tony Elumelu (CON); and former Acting Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party, Kawu Baraje (CON).

Also on the list are two retired Supreme Court Justices, Kayode Eso and Andrew Obaseki, will be conferred with CFR.

Others are governors Gabriel Suswam (Benue), Martin Elechi (Ebonyi), Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta) and Danbaba Suntai (Taraba), who will be conferred with CON.

Seven serving senators, including Victor Ndoma-Egba, Abdul Ahmed Ningi and Ayogu Eze will also be conferred with CON.

Others are Wole Olanipekun (OFR), former Military Governor of Lagos
State, Brigadier-General Mobolaji Johnson (Rtd.) (CFR); Cletus Ibeto
(CON), Benin-based lawyer, Omoruyi Omonuwa (OFR), Alex Izinyon (OFR), Labour Party Chairman, Dan Nwuanyanwu (OFR) and an artiste, Teco Benson (MFR).

The recipients also include the General Overseer of TREM, Bishop Mike
Okonkwo (MFR), Osemawe of Ondo, Obama Victor Kiladejo (MFR) and film
director, Peace Anyiam-Osigwe (MFR).

Limited Chairman, Dr. Mike Adenuga, will join President of Dangote
Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, among personalities conferred with the
award of Grand Commander of the Niger.

GCON is usually bestowed on the country’s Vice-President.

Tireni Adebayo

Tireni Adebayo is the Editor of Kemi Filani News. She has BSC in Mass Communication from the Redeemer's University and M.A in Mass Communication from the University of Lagos (2014 - 2015) where she majored in Public Relations and Advertising and Digital Media.  When she is not writing, she is either listening to music or reading her favorite books. Tel: +2348000000901 Address: Herbert Macaulay, Yaba, Lagos, Nigeria Email:

Leave a Comment